Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

I think my boss is gaslighting me.

I got to thinking about it this morning, and I realized that every so often my boss at the coffee shop will tell me factual information that is completely contrary to something she's told me before. When I inquire as to why she explained it differently in the past, she will deny it vehemently.

I don't have a bad memory when it comes to facts. When I research something or I am told factual information, I do not forget it.

Case in point, why would I go several months believing that one of our flavored coffees contains hazelnut, chocolate and vanilla flavors? Why would I distinctly remember reading those flavors in association with that coffee from a helpful sign (which conveniently enough happens to NO LONGER be here) in the store? Why would I tell customers this information for months with none of my coworkers correcting me if I was not right?

It's macadamia nut, she explains to me, not hazelnut. I can't double check my memories because all evidence of what I was told has been wiped from the face of the planet.

What does she have to gain from driving me crazy?!

On a related note, B thinks it would be completely hilarious to do a similar thing to IR. For example, we'd convince everyone he knows to talk in complete jibberish for the first few seconds of saying anything to him. When he says, "huh?" then we'd say, "I SAID...etc." We'd have to put emphasis on the I SAID and maybe even sound a little exasperated and tell him his hearing is going.

Is this evil? Probably. I love B.

5:49 a.m. - 2007-03-23

Previous - Next
DiaryLand