Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

She had really poofy hair.

Yesterday morning the manager at Bath & Body Works called me to come in for an interview. After that, the lingerie department manager at Dillards called me for an interview later that day.

Before I went to talk to either of them, I had to go pay my speeding ticket. Google maps couldn't find the address they'd listed for traffic court on the ticket, so I had to call for directions. The receptionist said the place was at this intersection down town. I never go downtown and don't know the layout, so I always get lost every time I go there. To avoid panic, as soon as I found the intersection, I parked in a nearby parking lot and got out of my car to walk and figure out which building I should go to.

I saw a building labeled Escambia County and made a beeline, but the security guard told me traffic court was across the intersection in the other big building. Then he told me I should know better than to be speeding.

For this whole adventure, I was dressed in my interview garb: skirt, heels. A lot of walking was involved and my feet were not pleased. So I paid my ticket, which was slightly discounted because I took the traffic school course. No points on my license, no increase to my insurance. More money paid out of pocket to start with, but I'll save in the end, I guess.

I went to Bad Ass next because I still had time to kill before my interviews, and I had a mocha and put on some makeup, then made my way to the mall.

I was 10 minutes early to B&BW and our interview didn't start until 10 minutes after we were supposed to be there. There were three of us, one was a blond sorority chick with red shoes too much eye makeup, the other was a really plain girl with a horrible complexion. The blond and I got hired. Plain girl delivered some of the worst interview answers I've ever heard. I'll cut her some slack because she said she'd never worked in retail, but anyone above sixteen really should know how to bullshit potential employers and tell them what they want to hear. It's not hard to make up an intelligent-sounding answer on the spot. When asked what she would do to sell a product to someone she said, "I would tell them it smelled real pretty on them." Dear sweet stupid girl, you will probably never have a job in the mall.

The blonde only got hired because she's in the same sorority as a girl who already works at B&BW. The manager who interviewed us spent at least a quarter of the interview time asking questions about some event that the frat/sorority might potentially host on the beach. Then she talked about seeing the blonde's MySpace.

I am the only one who got hired on pure fucking-awesomeness alone.

Orientation is tomorrow at 3.

My rent is probably going to be late. I bought 2 new outfits from Old Navy so I could look decent while working at B&BW. B said it wasn't that big a deal.

I'm hoping my tips this week and next will help me pay the rest of my bills.

I don't know if I'm going to be able to adequately celebrate Halloween. I haven't gotten all my costume supplies. I still need a wig, a hat, stockings, a broom, and makeup. I can probably make the broom, but the other stuff I'll have to buy.

I think that's about all.

4:27 p.m. - 2007-10-23

Previous - Next
DiaryLand