Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

I think that would fix it.

I reread the first paperback collection of Sandman comics and had coffee.

When I was done, I set the book down gently, reverently, as though I was hoping it knew I respected it.

Authors themselves are often too far away from my scope of view to revere, so I treat their works with utmost care.

I hate it when people use upmost; it isn't a word.

I don't buy hardcover books, so the ones I own lack a measure of protection, which is why I get so infuriated when someone borrows a book of mine and dog-ears the pages. I even take offense to people who disrespect their own books.

Yes, you can buy another book. But you don't have to if you remember that when you buy a book, you're accepting responsibility for its upkeep. It's like buying a goldfish, but its insides are infinitely more profound, and it doesn't eat fish flakes. On average, I'd say I read a book in 3-5 hours from start to finish. I usually don't put them down for anything but short breaks to the bathroom, or to brew coffee. On much, much rarer occasions, I don't bother finishing a book, but it still has its place and receives its respect. Someone else might enjoy its contents more than I; or perhaps I'll change and try it again someday, read it all the way through.

After I finished reading, I looked into my coffee cup. There were subtle swirls in the top of the liquid, where the water and oil didn't get along. I blew into it, changing the shape.

Reading a book often leaves me in a weird mood. I feel pensive and like I ought to write something. But what?

I usually get distracted before I put my mind to it.

I want to go back to school.

10:41 p.m. - 2008-03-10

Previous - Next
DiaryLand