Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

Eat your food.

Remember that boss I'm always mentioning is a dumb cunt and drives me nuts? She finally sent me over the edge the other day and I quit my job.

The situation was a little ridiculous.

We were having a typical slow/dead afternoon and I went to the bathroom. Meanwhile, someone came in and my boss made her drinks. I left the bathroom and when I came back to the counter, the girl showed me her drink, concerned that it wasn't the usual color.

I knew right away what had happened. The drinks this girl ordered are fruit smoothies, and in making them we would use a vanilla flavored powder. Well, my boss in her infinite genius read the recipe card and used what she thought was the correct powder. The recipe card lists a product we don't have, so we sub it with our own smoothie mix. My boss decided the closest thing to what the recipe called for was a COFFEE and vanilla flavored powder, because the card called for it to be low-carb, which that stuff was.

I pointed out to former-boss-lady that she used the wrong stuff and she immediately went on the defensive, saying she followed the recipe. I countered by telling her that stuff has coffee in it and these aren't coffee drinks.

"Fine," she said, slamming the drinks down on the counter, "you make it." Then she stormed off to sit on her stool at her laptop.

So I started to, and when I got out the correct smoothie mix, I showed it to her, telling her it was what she was supposed to use.

Her reaction? "I was following the recipe and if you don't like it you can go home."

It was at this point that all logic and reason went out the window and I told her she could consider this my resignation, and I went over to the bookstore to be incredibly upset and consider my options, while telling the two salaried staff members over there a few of my (and other former employees') complaints about former-boss-lady-cuntasaur.

They convinced me I should go over there and try to work things out with her.

So. I tried.

I went back to the coffee shop and asked her if she wanted me to continue working there. I was aiming to get only one thing out of her, and that was an apology for treating me like shit. Did I get it? No. I got instead a lecture about not correcting her in front of customers.

At that point, I stopped listening, clocked out, got my tips, and went back over to the bookstore where one of those previously mentioned staff members made out my final check. I left, intending to have a meeting with former-boss-lady's boss as soon as he got back into town so I could rat her out.

I talked with him the following Monday and he, while sympathetic, didn't have much help for me in regards to her. I told him I worried she'd try to sabotage other employment opportunities I might have if they called the coffee shop for a reference (because I've heard her do this to two other former employees before) and he told me just to list the bookstore number instead and put him down as a reference. He asked me if I wanted my job back and I told him not if I had to work with her. Then he took down my phone number, and I joked with him about calling me if he ever needed a new manager. Oddly enough, he told me that's why he took down my number, mentioning that former-boss-lady was lacking in certain parts of what her job was.

Well, I didn't expect anything to come of it, and he was probably just taking my number to make me feel better, because I nearly started crying again while I talked to him. It would be neat, though, if he decided she's too much of a shithead to keep around and I could go back to work (as manager!) at the job I had for 3 years and loved, except for former-boss-lady.

Either way, I've been unemployed for a week and two days, and I had an interview at this hipster Mexican food joint but I'm not sure anything's going to come of it, because their manager is worried he won't have enough hours to give me.

B's been kind about it. He refuses to deposit this month's rent check, even though I've told him to about five hundred times.

I'm freaking out, however, and I'm going to jump on the first job opportunity that comes my way, even if I can get barely any hours. Little income is better than no income, and it won't hurt my feelings one bit to work somewhere temporarily while I look for a better source of income.

I've applied to get my job at the call center back, and I put in an application for a different call center, too. I need to call them, but it's the weekend and their reception desk isn't open.

The damn dog refused to eat yesterday and he's taken about two bites of his food today. I don't know why.

6:30 p.m. - 2008-08-16

Previous - Next
DiaryLand