Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

The social strata

I grew up in a small town with practically no cultural relevance. Until I moved to Anonymous Coastal City, I'd never had to witness other human beings as high up on their horses as I am. At first I was enamored by the people I met; after all, wasn't their attentiveness to all things artistic, musical, sociopolitical, and philosophical just the kind of thing I'd been hungering for and never been able to sate in my hometown?

The answer is, simply, yes.

The feeling is fleeting, mostly because these people treat each other like shit. I write this essay for you hipsters, potheads, musicians, poets--Anonymous Coastal City twenty-somethings--who are so blithely attuned to everything except empathy for your fellow man. You and I are the same person, and I hate us.

...

So I think I'm going to start publishing a 'zine. But I probably won't.

2:00 p.m. - 2007-06-13

Previous - Next
DiaryLand