Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

Health Food

At the coffee shop where I work, we have a sandwich that (according to my rough calculations) contains as many calories as, and several more grams of fat than, a McDonalds Double Quarter Pounder with Cheese.

It is disguised as a healthy, vegetarian lunch.

After conferring with my boss for a moment or two to confirm the amount of ingredients we put on the sandwich (right at about a "serving size" of each), I tallied up the totals and smiled smugly to myself. So many waifish little tarts come in and eat it saying, "ooh, that sounds healthy."

Ingredients:

Pesto - Serving size: 1/4 cup - Fat: 30 grams - Calories: 300
Hummus - Serving size: 1 ounce - Fat: 6 grams - Calories: 80
Sun Dried Tomatoes (not in oil) - Serving size: 1/2 ounce - Fat: 0 grams - Calories: 40
Shredded Mozzarella - Serving size: 1/4 cup - Fat: 6 grams - Calories: 80
Wheat Bread (multiply by two) - Serving size: 1 slice - Fat: 1.5 grams - Calories: 120

The sandwich also includes lettuce and onions, both of which (to my knowledge) provide a negligible amount of fat/cal, so I did not include them.

Total for a whole sandwich? 740 calories, 45 grams of fat.

Hooray for pesto!

3:20 p.m. - 2007-11-20

Previous - Next
DiaryLand