Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

I'll probably do it tomorrow. I'm angry enough.

I don't know where to start. I can't remember when last I felt so completely defeated.

I don't want to do anything. Words aren't coming to me easily.

I guess I can tell the story with little to no eloquence.

The call center is fucking me. Saturday morning, I slept through my alarm ringing from 5:30 AM until 7:00 AM. I didn't get to work there until 7:22. My supervisor told me to make up the missed time after my shift.

Making up missed time is something we employees are allowed to do in order to have all our hours completed and receive commission.

I couldn't make up my missed time because at noon that day, they announced there weren't enough agents on the floor and they had to turn the dialer off and send us home.

Concerned about my money, I asked what to do about the time I missed. I was told I wouldn't have to do anything since they sent us home early anyway, and I couldn't make it up another day because Saturday was the last day in the pay period.

So I went home thinking everything was okay.

On Wednesday, before my shift, my other supervisor told me that because I didn't make up my time on Saturday, my employment was under review and I could potentially be termed.

Okay. Great.

He comes to my desk a few hours later and tells me I won't be terminated and it will not affect my pay, commission-wise.

Cut to the next hour, he's back at my desk telling me that my commission for that week is all gone, bye bye, poof.

I go to HR at 1 after my shift is over and try to fix it. HR girl tells me she'll call me in the afternoon.

I get home, HR girl doesn't call until 6 PM and tells me that HR can't fix anything, so I need to talk to the floor manager.

Today I type up a written explanation of the events as I understand them, submit a copy to supervisors 1 and 2, HR girl, my personnel file, and floor manager. I then spend about 30-40 minutes in a meeting with supervisor 2 and floor manager, explaining my case and why it's unfair that my commission was taken from me, especially when I was told I could not stay at work that day.

Floor manager proceeds to tell me I wasn't the only one with this problem and they can't make exceptions, and he's terribly sorry but oversleeping isn't what they classify as an excused absence (excused absences only exist when doctor's notes are presented), and he's also terribly sorry for all the misinformation I was fed on Saturday. He ALSO proceeds to LIE to me about why people were sent home on Saturday.

I was told that THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH AGENTS ON THE FLOOR TO CONTINUE TO RUN THE DIALER, SO ALL OF YOU ARE TO LEAVE AT NOON.

He maintains that the being told to leave was simply an invitation, and we all could've stayed 'til the ends of our respective shifts.

Gee whiz. Should've told your floor supervisors that because they fucking told us to go the fuck home. You'd probably save a bunch of your agents some heartache.

Anyway, I can't work for this company anymore. Especially now that I know for a fact that I'm not the only one who got fucked on Saturday and they're not doing a goddamn thing for anyone. This shitty job isn't worth a headache like this, so now I'm trying to decide if I want to just hand in my badge and walk out tomorrow after I get my first paycheck, or if I am going to wait to give them the big FUCK YOU and walk out at the end of this pay period, next Saturday.

I applied online to be the secretary/receptionist at Sacred Heart's rehab center today.

There is at least one good thing about all of this. I get to go home for Christmas now for sure. I'm going to take the Nissan to my brother, and I'm going to drive a rental car back. Hertz lets you rent from one location and return to another. Isn't that swell?

5:48 p.m. - 2007-12-06

Previous - Next
DiaryLand