Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

DEATH, DOOM, DESPAIR, AND DOG DOO.

After a brief meeting with my calculator, I realized, much to my dismay, that I cannot continue working for the coffee shop at my current rate of pay.

This'll be about the fifth or sixth time I've realized that.

So I went around (again) and applied for jobs. I put in at Best Buy, Books-A-Million, Albertsons, Ruby Tuesday, and Rave Motion Pictures.

Then I got the goddamn tea kettle I've been wanting for goddamn ever and a nice little mug with an infuser and lid. Here's the pair of them together. Also, I used my tip money (which doesn't get counted when I'm going over my finances since the amount is negligible), so don't give me dirty looks for going out and buying goodies when I'm whining about being poor as hell.

Also, I deserved it.

Anyway, I got progressively more depressed with each application I filled out, and at the end of my trek, I stopped by the local comic book shop where B spends most of his free time.

B has been telling me that they're in serious need of extra help there since one of what he thinks are only 3 employees (apart from the owner and his mother) is leaving soon to go live in California.

So I went in to try to apply. A fellow was there who I've never seen before, so I suspect he was the owner. He told me they're not hiring at all. Earlier I got the same answer from Old Navy (who should take down their damn "We're Hiring!" sign) and from World Market; so, feeling appropriately dejected, I got in my car and cried a little bit on my way home because I am a fat whiny girl-baby.

I then proceeded to scrub the kitchen from top to bottom with bleach and mutter angrily to myself about how our roommate leaves gross bowls of stuff and cold water in the sink and how I have to touch the icky food-water every time I try to do the dishes.

On a related note, I wish he would stop asking me, "Are we okay?" in reference to our roommate-relationship. That's almost as infuriating as people asking, "Are you okay?" in reference to me doing something other than talking to them. You pay to live here, guy. You don't pay to be best pals with the other people who also pay to live here.

I'm thinking about taking the rest of my tips and buying chili supplies, since I haven't eaten anything today, but B isn't here tonight so there isn't really much point in cooking.

I spoke at length to the manager at Ruby Tuesday, and it's looking to be the most promising job opportunity so far.

Even though I'd rather die than start a new job.

It's raining. How appropriate.

7:33 p.m. - 2008-01-31

Previous - Next
DiaryLand