Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

TALES FROM ___________

Drama has been afoot lately. It hasn't especially been happening TO me, but near me, certainly.

B's mom had a nervous breakdown. I wasn't there to see any of this, but B told me that she lost it when she and B's dad were up at the hospital to receive an analysis of a skin cancer B's dad had removed a few days prior. The hospital staff wouldn't let her go into the back with her husband, so she flipped her lid and started yelling and making threats in the waiting room. B's dad came back out, got completely mortified, and left (they were in seperate cars). This caused her to freak out even more, then she left, nearly hitting someone in the parking lot, who she also proceeded to yell at and threaten. She talked to B and his dad after that and they told her to go home and cool it. The next time B heard from her was before lunch, and she was completely out of it--making vague suicide threats and not responding to anything B said. So he called the cops on her. Nine cops kicked in the door to B's parents house (this town's cops do not have all that much to do), but she wasn't there. They finally got her on the phone again, and the cop spoke to her and got her to stop the car and wait, and they sent a couple cops to pick her up. She was taken to the local mental hospital, where B and his dad met up with her and the three of them remained locked in a secure corridor for about three hours while they sorted out where she would go. Rather than being Baker Acted, B's mom decided to admit herself to the mental hospital.

B came home that day in a surprisingly cheerful mood. He said he had to either laugh about it or go crazy and that he knew where going crazy got you. He also said that the ward they put her in was very Girl, Interrupted.

I went with B and his dad to visit her the next day. It wasn't very Girl, Interrupted, but it most certainly was a hospital, which is more than it takes to make me feel crazy. BLEH.

Anyway, she was out the next day. They put her on Wellbutrin, told her to take it easy, and that she should probably talk to the grief counselor she saw after her parents' deaths again.

She's got a lot of stress to deal with. She has to live with chronic pain, exhausting monthly treatments for lupus, selling her house, her husband having skin cancers that one day might be potentially deadly, and a myriad of other dramas that take their toll.

In summation, B may have saved her life by calling the cops on her.

In other news, B got Age of Conan and it wouldn't run on his computer, so he went to Best Buy to get MOAR RAM.

Did you know DDR is more expensive than DDR2 'cause it's balls-ass old and barely anyone makes it anymore? We didn't. So he shelled out $270 for two 1 gig sticks of RAM. Tried to install them in his computer whose motherboard promptly turned into a motherbitch and croaked, so we returned the RAM about an hour later and he bought an entirely new system. Some sweet-ass gaming Gateway with a ridiculous 4 gigs of RAM (plus 2 additonal slots for MOAR RAM--which potentially could allow him to have 8 gigs of RAM--I mean wtf who needs that much RAM) and a ridiculous video card and other ridiculous stats that I don't understand. Age of Conan runs like a goddamn dream and he can play LOTR on all the highest settings and Windows Vista is a cunt but he's coping (says he's used to it, but I don't like the look of that shifty-ass OS).

He gave me one of the 512 sticks that was in his old computer, so Capt. Compaq now has ONE gig of RAM. He also donated to me his 200 gig hard drive, but there's some metal bullshit in the way of installing that, and I was afraid to dismantle my box any further than taking out the CPU fan. He also gave me his old video card (which is more sweet ass than mine) but the stupid sonofabitch power supply cords won't reach far enough to install that and still keep power to my CD drive and hard drive. I mean why the fuck have 4 male parts extending from the power supply if they won't reach all over the goddamn box. Dude, I was pissed. I nearly cried.

But!

My computer still worked even after I took it practically all the way apart.

And I got more RAM and a laser mouse out of the deal so I guess that's cool. The other hard drive is still potentially viable, if I can get someone brave enough to pry open the casing over the original hard drive and get that ridiculous metal bullshit out of the way so it can be put in and slaved out oh baby.

I just don't want to break my precious baby, 'cause I don't have $600 or whatever to shell out for a new computer.

And that's the end of that 'cause the boss is here. Bye!

7:47 a.m. - 2008-05-19

Previous - Next
DiaryLand