Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

I don't want to die in fat rehab.

I had to close the coffee shop with my boss and two trainees last night. I got stuck teaching the 16 year old how to tidy up the dining room and bathrooms while my boss took on education of the other girl whose age is a mystery to me, but I'm pretty sure she's the eldest person working here now.

The girl I was training is way too pretty to be working here. She's thin and has nice hair and hands. My only complaint about her (other than the fact that I'm no longer the cutest girl working here) is the weird fake-tan orange tint her skin has. It's inhuman. She looks like she might light up neon orange under a blacklight.

I also think she might be dumb as hell.

While we were sweeping the floor, my boss was explaining the tastes and origins of our organic coffees. We have a Peruvian and a Brazilian that we sell in 1 lb bags. My boss kept referring to the Peruvian coffee's country of origin as Peruvia. She does this all the time because she's a dolt, but the point is, I turned to the new girl as soon as I heard it and whispered, "she totally just said 'Peruvia.'"

In response: blank look, half smile, eyebrows raised in anticipation of an explanation.

I had to tell her that Peruvia is not a country.

Our future is doomed.

As for the present, any suggestions on how to tell my boss that it is Peru without offending her before she says "Peruvia" to someone who has less tact and gets herself good and proper-like embarrassed?

Or maybe I should just, you know, come what may. It's not like she doesn't deserve it.

Heh heh.

I have the distinct feeling my coworker is going to be late today. It's still his summer break and he hasn't been scheduled for a morning shift since summer began.

Also he just got over having mono and he's really not a morning person.

I need to get in touch with the call center. LN went in for her second interview, and they told her to just call back when she was able to start her training class. Apparently they're doing one every week. It's weird the way they work there. "Okay, you're hired, call us and start whenever, you know, it's convenient."

I need to call them back because I put in my rehire form and they said it would be about 2 weeks, but I am pretty sure the girl who was working in human resources didn't have any intentions of fixing what she said she would fix for me as far as my rehire eligible date goes.

When you quit there, you have to complete your 2 weeks notice in full--no time off, no giving hours away to other employees, or you get terminated and are not eligible for rehire for 90 days.

If you actually work your last 2 weeks, you're eligible for rehire in 30 days.

No one bothered to tell me this, so before I quit, I tried to give away half of my days for the next two weeks. Some of them got picked up, some didn't but my shift manager found out and explained to me I had to get my hours back or be terminated immediately.

So I picked up all my hours and finished my 2 weeks in full, but that's not what their computers say. I blew the system's mind. I guess when it noticed I'd given those hours away it put in that I should be termed and not eligible for rehire until 90 days had passed, but my bosses knew I'd picked the hours up and was still working so I wasn't fired.

I explained all this to the girl in HR, but I'm pretty sure she didn't believe me. She told me it would be okay and turned in my rehire form anyway, but I'm pretty sure she did nothing else to smoothe the problem out.

The people there are so ineffective, so today I'm going back in to ask whoever's in HR what the status of my rehire is and if there's going to be a problem. I can bring in proof that I actually worked my scheduled hours if they want to give me any shit, and I will raise a fart-like stink if I can't get my eleven fiddy an hour.

The Camaro needs an oil change and a new blinker bulb and probably a tire rotation that I can't afford. I need doctors visits that I can't afford. I need food that I can't afford. I need to buy a membership at Curves so I can get my fat, weak ass some exercize that I can't afford.

Lately, in the evenings, I've had muscle aches that are a lot like the kind you get when you have a fever, but I haven't been feverish. I think I'm feeling so weak and in pain because I get no exercize whatsoever. I asked B to please start riding the bikes with me again and he said he would. I like having someone around me when I do that kind of thing, which is why I'm thinking a Curves membership might be a good thing for me. It's only 3 days a week for 30 minutes, which seems like it isn't much, but if I can get myself into the habit of actually exercizing, I'll see vast improvement. I can maintain my weight right now. I've maintained it for eight years. That doesn't mean I'm in good shape. People in good shape don't get winded while walking slowly up the stairs to their apartment.

Plus, last night I watched this thing about the Brookhaven Obesity Clinic (which is basically fat rehab--for the morbidly obese) on Discovery Health and it gave me the willies. The thinnest girl in fat rehab was 354 pounds. My mom is pretty close to 300 pounds herself and in what I consider to be terrible health.

I don't want to be like that, and as I get older, I swear I see myself sliding toward it.

7:00 a.m. - 2007-08-16

Previous - Next
DiaryLand