Latest

Profile

MySpace

StumbleUpon

. Notes

People

Archives

Diaryrings

Lion oil.

Today I went back out to apply for more jobs. I went to Good Mall today and applied at Bed, Bath & Beyond, World Market, Spencer's Gifts, and Bath and Body Works. I picked up two other applications (for Body Shop and some kids' clothes store), but by the time I'd finished filling out all the others, my hand was shaking and hurting so badly I threw them in the trash.

I really don't want to have to start another job, but after the speeding ticket and the way things are looking financially right now, it's inevitable.

I talked to managers at BB&B, World Market, and Spencer's. The Spencer's manager told me to come in Thursday at 4 to do an interview. She was the only one of the managers who gave me any sort of satisfactory time frame. BB&B's manager said she'd give my application and resume to the hiring manager in the morning, and the lady at World Market said they probably wouldn't start hiring for another 2 weeks.

I'm thinking also about applying for a position at Old Navy, but they have one of the dreaded online applications. Probably the kind with a personality test I'm sure to fail.

Out of all those places, Spencer's may suit my personality the best. Their employees are always so funny and offbeat.

If that doesn't work out, I'll go back to the mall on Friday and fill out more applications.

I've also been considering going to an employment agency. I haven't gone down that route yet because, for some reason, having someone else find a job for me doesn't sit well with me. That and I keep reading adverts for these places and they all seem to want to help recruit only professionals.

I feel like Spencer's will work out. I've never had a job interview that didn't end with me being employed. It seems as though once you get the interview, the hard part (of getting a job) is over. All new hard parts come next, but I've never found myself in a situation I couldn't handle. I've found myself in 2 job situations that made me want to strangle the nearest person, but the work was a cinch.

I really, really wish World Market would call me for an interview before then. I'd much rather work there than crowded little Spencer's Gifts.

I shouldn't be so picky.

10:15 p.m. - 2007-10-15

Previous - Next
DiaryLand